McCullough Scores Two in a Row with All American Speedway Triumph

McCullough Scores Two in a Row with All American Speedway Triumph



For Immediate Release: SPEARS Modified Series Media


Travis McCullough had been looking for Victory Lane in the SPEARS Modified Series for 20 starts. He finally hit paydirt in the last event at Irwindale Speedway’s inner 1/3-mile. Saturday night, he returned to another 1/3-mile oval and scored his second victory in a row. McCullough took the lead from Eric Price on lap 44 and survived multiple late race restarts and a side by side duel with Travis Thirkettle to pull off the win in the “ 75 presented by R&R Truck Repair” at All American Speedway. The win was worth $2,500 and a big boost in the championship standings for the Lodi, CA driver.


Championship Leader Jeremy Doss claimed the PFC Brakes Zero Drag Fast Time Award over the 17-car field. Travis Thirkettle clocked in second followed by Travis McCullough, Eric Price and Eddie Secord. After the eight-car redraw, local driver Kris Price found himself on the pole with another, Ralph Bailey, to his outside. McCullough lined up third with Eddie Secord, Eric Price and Travis Thirkettle the top-six. The opening restart found Kris Price out to a short lead, but a lap two debris caution slowed the early action. The restart found McCullough up to second with another yellow flying on lap nine.


Eric Price was able to take advantage on the ensuing restart to move into second, with McCullough back to third. A couple of additional cautions slowed the action as the Price brothers led the field. Jeremy Doss had advanced to fourth by the lap 21 caution, but dropped out with overheating issues. A ten lap green segment found both Eric Price and McCullough getting by Kris Price, before a Red for Douglas Carpenter’s hit to the Turn 1 wall. Another green found Price and McCollough battling side by side, with McCullough leading several laps before Price could secure the lead. McCullough wasn’t done however, as he was able to get under Price and take the lead on lap 44, as the Lodi, CA driver recalled.


“We got the lead and then lost it again. I just knew it was going to be a waiting game, as I saw his setup deplete. I figured I’d sit back and relax and let the race come to us, instead of trying to win it right out of the box.”


As the field settled in, Eric Price began to push up the track, allowing Eddie Secord to advance to the runner-up position. The Price brother’s fine run had a hiccup on lap 53 however, as Kris got into Eric coming off turn two. Eric spun to the infield for another yellow and Kris rejoined the field at the rear because of the contact. A couple of additional slowdowns found the field restarting on lap 70, with McCullough leading Secord, Thirkettle, Sam Jacks and Andrew Anderson. On the restart, Thirkettle was able to work his way to the outside of McCullough and the two battled side by side until the white flag flew. Thirkettle’s bid for the win went out the window when he spun in Turn #1, handing the hard fought victory to McCullough.


“That was exhilarating to say the least”, McCullough explained about the battle with Thirkettle. “He is never easy to beat, and when you put Travis and Travis together, it usually spells some sort of disaster in the past. I wanted to run him clean and give him his room. It was just a nerve wracking last four laps.”


When asked about the meaning of his two race win streak, McCullough was still pondering the win and its significance.


“I don’t know (what it feels like) yet, I’ll find out tomorrow morning”, McCullough chuckled.


RBK teammate Eddie Secord finished second with Eric Price making a big recovery to finish third. Rookie-of-the-Race Sam Jacks came home fourth, with fellow rookie Andrew Anderson rounding out the top-five. After his spin, Thirkettle ended up a disappointing 11th.



  1. Travis McCullough, 2. Eddie Secord, 3. Eric Price, 4. Sam Jacks*, 5. Andrew Anderson*, 6. William Guevara, 7. Kris Price, 8. Kyle Jacks*, 9. Tyler Mullican, 10. Ralph Bailey, 11. Travis Thirkettle, 12. Jim Coffey, 13. Ed Coffey, 14. Douglas Carpenter, 15. Jeremy Doss 16. Rick Anderson, 17. Trenton Millard*

*Rookie-of-the-Year Contender